So, before this week I always thought I was totally prepared for the future work of Hope Station. The last few days however, definitely proved me wrong….

The measles virus infected two people at our foster home; we had to admit one young lady to the hospital while a young boy had to be isolated from the other kids. Because of the lack of staff, I was given the role of caregiver for the boy who has been isolated. I have never babysat a 3 year old before, even though I have worked with children for almost 10 years.  Even though he had to go to the bathroom every 5 minutes, pooped himself, and I had to give him a bath and hand wash his clothes….Don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to boast  about myself, but I have to say, I truly enjoyed every moment!. I realize this is how God shows me that the preparation is not done yet, and how much I still need to learn to be equipped for Hope Station.

The boy I babysat is Doug, he is the smartest, bravest and happiest 3-year old I have ever seen! He never sheds a single tear when getting shots; he takes his medicine with no complaints even though they are pretty nasty (he actually says they taste good, ack!); In the midst of the suffering from the virus, he still manages to sing and smile and pray before every meal….. His little happy soul just inspires me to be a faithful follower of Him! I am so amazed to see God work in such incredible ways; He never fails to teach us even through little children and dirty diapers.

Picture
Joyful Doug, love him!!
"Religion that is pure and undefiled before G*d, the Father, is this: to care for orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself unstained by the world." James 1:27



Leave a Reply.

    About Sara...

    I am a native Chinese, I have been working with orphaned children since 2005, and my life has been changed ever since. About four years ago I felt the call from the Father to start my own foster home in my hometown. I am really excited to see how He is going to use me for his work through this foster home...

    Archives

    一月 2014
    十一月 2013
    十月 2013
    九月 2013

    Categories

    全部